This wasn’t supposed to be a food blog…

Wow.  So… I just made it on the bus from South Station with about 20 seconds to spare.  It was one of those slow-mo, 4 bags in hand, running like a crazy moments where I found myself approaching the stairs to the bus terminal as the clock turned 10:01pm.  SHIT. Luckily for me, the bus driver was talking to a coworker, sparing me several seconds to fly through the door and jump on the bus.  Good thing he was a nice guy… who politely warned me that if he had not been speaking to his buddy, I would have been watching the bus round the corner.

All this… and I’ve got a killer wine buzz.  Why?  Well… let’s just say Honey Bear and I had QUITE the dining experience this evening.  We decided to do up my last “professional networking” event with North End food, once again.  The funny part is that my meeting presenter never showed up!  We all sat around for about an hour before deciding he was not coming, so that means I got an earlier start to the dining evening… and even further means that I should have certainly been on time for the bus.

But… alas… I am here.  And the bus has wifi.  So, you get a blog post!  Woop!  Dinner tonight was out of this world.  I mean it.  I’ve never been to a restaurant like this!  For starters, we each had a salad that alone could have been an entree, and then split an appetizer of calamari with aioli and marinara that was simply awesome.  For the record, the last sentence had approximately 6 spelling errors before I corrected them. Red wine… please don’t hurt me in the morning.  Oh… and I forgot the awesome rolls and oil with olives for a little starter.  And the first glass of red wine.

We ate all that… then decided we wanted entrees too… so we each ordered one so we could have it for lunch again tomorrow.  I had chicken carbonara (big surprise… also, this chemistry geek just realized the carbon part of carbonara) and Honey Bear had something with shrimp and white wine sauce and linguine… but not scampi.  Both delish.  Both creating plenty of leftovers for lunch.  So, HB has another glass of wine.  I decide to not be indulgent and just finish my glass.  But wait… then our waitress, who must also be part owner because she was wearing flip-flops and sunglasses on her head (I wear my sunglasses at night…), said we looked like we were having fun, so she topped off our wine glasses.  And by topped off, I mean poured us each a whole glass of wine.

Next?  Tiramisu – on the house.  WHUT?!  Please and thank you… it was delicious.  So we are talking… and realizing that several other tables in this 10-table space have already eaten, paid, and left.  HB and I were still nursing (haha, nursing) the window seat going on hour #3.  So, what does sweet waitress lady do?  She comes over and brings us 2 more glasses of wine… again, on the house.  We finally had to let her know that I had a bus to catch and though we very much appreciated the hospitality, we had to run!

So all of that… and our check was $115, which was totally reasonable considering our excessive consumption.  She only charged us $20 for the wine… so basically we each got a bottle of wine for $10.  HENCE the spelling errors and general wishy-washy feeling in my tum tum at the present time.  I’m afraid a burp may erupt into something less pleasant.  TMI?  So sorry.

Anyway… needless to say, I will be venturing here again in the future.  Most likely when I have the option of sleeping here.  Then I have no qualms about sitting in that window seat for another 2 hours.  For all you New Englanders – it’s called Pomodoro.  Like the tomato!  And there are tomatoes drawn all over the place.  I’m not kidding when I say there are only 10 tables… it is TIGHT.  But, very intimate (so appropriate for my HB date and I, ahahaha), and right across the street from Mike’s Pastry.  Don’t worry… when you leave, you won’t be craving a cannoli because the tiramisu is THAT good.

And there is my 11th food post out of… 15?  I promise to write about less caloric things in the future, now that my Boston trips are done.  Tomorrow I may even write another post about a few of the people in my professional development class that I actually had time to speak with tonight.  Turns out a few are very interesting people (and I mean that in a good way!)

Have a good sleep, my little bloggies.

xoxo, Eliza

Oh!  BIG PS:  I mailed 2 grad school apps today!  Go me!  Only 4 left to go!

3 Comments

Filed under Friends - those "other" relationships, Life, Workin' woman

3 responses to “This wasn’t supposed to be a food blog…

  1. Pingback: Just breathe… | gabs from eliza

  2. I can’t “like” your posts anymore because I switched from wordpress.com to wordpress.org but I’m still reading and I am mentally “liking: this post :)

Leave a comment